Like the Suncoast Spinners on Facebook
Watch the Suncoast Spinners on YouTube
Deen to support us .. Donate Now by contacting the Club

2018 Tournament

Welcome to the Suncoast Spinners Wheelchair Basketball Tournament 2018.

The Suncoast Spinners Wheelchair Basketball Tournament has wrapped up for another year with many hotly-contested finals.

Feed the Heat (Brisbane) managed to claim top honours in the premier grade final after defeating Thundercats (Perth) 47-48.

That wasn’t the only tight finish in the competition, with Dream Team (Brisbane) winning A-grade 26-19 against the Thomoz Tomahawks.

Lismore took win in B-grade Grand final after a hotly contested game against the Suncoast Wheelies (A Suncoast Spinners Reverse Inclusion team) 18-17.

The competition featured plenty of national talent, including Australian Under 23 Spinners player Steven Elliott, who played for the Spinning Bullets.

His side finished the premier grade in third place and relished the challenge.

“I’ve been playing in the premier grade and we’ve got some of the Paralympians and up-and-comers who are hoping to go to worlds this year so it’s been crazy the amount of talent and some good games,” he said.

“This is probably one of the biggest tournaments in Australia.”

by , 15th Jan 2018 11:13 AM


Teams from Perth, Adelaide, Victoria, NSW and QLD competed in the largest tournament to date. 20 teams, 82 games over three days of action packed wheelchair basketball.

The Australian Gliders utilizing the event as a training camp in the lead up to the World Championships later this year.


“This event is proudly supported by Sunshine Coast Council and Visit Sunshine Coast”

Sunday 14th January


Results of Suncoast Spinners Tournament  2018
1st Feed the Heat – Dan Anstey; Kurt Thomaon; Matt McShane; Tom O’Neil-Thorne; Bridie Kean and Jeremy Synot
2nd Thundercats – Shuan Norris; Kayl Jeffery; Thomas McHugh; Laavale Faaeteete; Mark Utley; Michael Hartnet
3rd Bullets – Shannon Buxton; Tom Holland-Roach; Steven Elliott; Jake Fulwood and Nick RadovickAll Star 5   Matt McShane (Feed the Heat); Jason Holohan (Rockhampton); Shaun Norris (Thundercats); Shelley Chaplin (Gliders Green); Thomas McHugh (Thundercats)MVP   Shelley Chaplin (Gliders Green)A Grade
1st Dream Team – Joe Salu; Scott Wintle; Brant North; Dave Hegerty; Andrew Lewis
2nd Thomoz Tomahawks – Scott Boland; Matt Thompson; Blair Thompson; Ben Noonan; Ben Smith; Dave Kelly
3rd VWBA – Campbell Fraser; Bailey Jankovic; Patrick McKay; Teisha Shadwell; Liam Fitzgerald; James Weinert; Jim Lacey; Nathan WilburnAll Star 5   Ben Noonan (Thomoz Tomahawks); Corey Mostram (Toowoomba); Todd Anderson (Frenchville Rockwheelers); Teisha Shawell (VWBA); Scott Boland (Thomoz Tomahawks)MVP    Todd Anderson (Frenchville Rockwheelers)Encouragement Award Jasmine Mannign (Rolling Thunder White)B Grade

1st Lismore – Cody Baker-Alvos; Will Smith; Duane Gilmore; Jime Gilmore; Liam Flanagan; Aiden Flanagan
2nd Suncoast Wheelies – Callum Pettigrew; Will House; Lachlan Wood; Nate Jobson; Ben Blandford; Jarred Liddicoat; D’Mitri Hagicostas; Andreas Hagicostas
3rd Toowoomba Bushrangers – Diane Hetherington; Mel Hetherington; Dylan Barber; Curtis Barber; Adam Keeting; Justice TranquilleAll Star 5 Mitch Duncan (Suncoast Tornados); Duane Gilmore (Lismore); Jarred Liddicoat (Suncoast Wheelies); Jashar Keetly (Suncoast Tornados); Melissa Hetherington (Toowoomba Bushrangers)MVP Duane Gilmore (LismoreEncouragement Award Adam Keeting (Toowoomba Bushrangers)Face Plant Award Jay Dohnt (Adelaide Thunder)

Mandy Fooks Best & Fairest Award Peter Arbuckle (Toowoomba Bushrangers)

Vic Renolds & Steve Wendell Memorial – Most Outstanding Team Award
Coffs Harbour


“This event is proudly supported by Sunshine Coast Council and Visit Sunshine Coast”



Caloundra RSL proudly supports the Suncoast Spinners Wheelchair Basketball



Join Sunscoast Spinners, sign up for membership now

Proudly Supported by

Suncoast Spinners Proudly Supported by Sunshine Coast Councilnshine Coast Council
Suncoast Spinners proudly supported by Caloundra RSL